Short story competition 2015/16 - The Final Results

Exeter Writers are delighted to announce the winners of the 2015/16 Exeter Writers Short Story Competition.

We received many fantastic entries, and thank all our entrants for their efforts. We can now reveal the winning stories and their authors. We can also reveal the authors of the shortlisted and longlisted stories. Congratulations, everyone! We hope to see you next year.

1st – Mr Dixon’s Lawnmower – Michael Snelle
2nd – The Indus Seals – Frances Thimann
3rd – Not as Fast as Lightning Boy – D. Bruton
Devon prize – Things I Have Wasted Money On – Hayley Jones

Shortlist (in alphabetical order)
Adam’s Fall – Mark Stobbs
Bird – Jen Leggo
Letters from America – Diane Simmons
Silver Harvest – Ali Bacon
The Prodigal Robin – Louise G. Cole
The Romance of Scorpions – Katharine Orton

Longlist (in alphabetical order)
42nd Street – Paul Toolan
A Life Choice – Emily Blewett
Abandoned – Kit Perkins
An Arrangement – Tom Vowler
Antifreeze – Jenny Knight
Blowhole – Tom Vowler
Come Tilly Come – Nicole Fitton
Cyfannedd Fach – Hannah Persaud
Discovery – Natalie Smith
Drone – Tom Jensen
Gremlin – Laura Wake
His Greatest Treasure – Peter Collins
Home for Dinner – PJ Stephenson
Jerusalem Wormwood – Robert Kibble
Keiko's Story – Jane Elia
Lifeline – Paul Barnett
Like Mother Like Daughter – Suzie Lockhart-Smith
Moonlight and Jasmine – Fred Canavan
Mrs Heathcliff's Riposte – Fiona McKenna
Murik's Coat – Brooke Ballenger
Payback – Gillian Brown
People Like Me – Jacq Molloy
Piano Music – Louise Mangos
Russell's Story – Philip Laverty
Shame on You – Susan Doherty
Silent Ovation – Joanna Campbell
Taj – Pauline Hughes
The Diamond – Nick Thripp
The Fox – Hannah Persaud
The Neighbours – James Hodgson
The Past Never Dies – Simon Hall
The Perfect Shade of Green – Sherry Morris
The Sculptor and the Sea – Anya J. Davis
The Tallow Butcher's Child – Joanna Campbell
The Unpathed Water – Melanie Marshall
Uncommon Wisdom – Gautam Banerjee
Undine – Melanie Whipman
Units of Sense and Magnitude – Catherine Ford
Where's Lisbeth? – Maureen Cullen