Results of the 2015/16 Exeter Writers Short Story Competition

Results of the 2015/16 
Exeter Writers Short Story Competition

Exeter Writers are delighted to announce the winners of the 2015/16 Exeter Writers Short Story Competition.

We received many fantastic entries, and thank all our entrants for their efforts. We can now reveal the winning stories and their authors. We can also reveal the authors of the shortlisted and longlisted stories. Congratulations, everyone! We hope to see you next year.

1st – Mr Dixon’s Lawnmower – Michael Snelle
2nd – The Indus Seals – Frances Thimann
3rd – Not as Fast as Lightning Boy – D. Bruton 
Devon prize – Things I Have Wasted Money On – Hayley Jones

Shortlist (in alphabetical order)
Adam’s Fall – Mark Stobbs
Bird – Jen Leggo
Letters from America – Diane Simmons
Silver Harvest – Ali Bacon
The Prodigal Robin – Louise G. Cole
The Romance of Scorpions – Katharine Orton

Longlist (in alphabetical order)
    42nd Street – Paul Toolan
    A Life Choice – Emily Blewett
    Abandoned – Kit Perkins
    An Arrangement – Tom Vowler
    Antifreeze – Jenny Knight
    Blowhole – Tom Vowler
    Come Tilly Come – Nicole Fitton
    Cyfannedd Fach – Hannah Persaud
    Discovery – Natalie Smith
    Drone – Tom Jensen
    Gremlin – Laura Wake
    His Greatest Treasure – Peter Collins
    Home for Dinner – PJ Stephenson
    Jerusalem Wormwood – Robert Kibble
    Keiko's Story – Jane Elia
    Lifeline – Paul Barnett
    Like Mother Like Daughter – Suzie Lockhart-Smith
    Moonlight and Jasmine – Fred Canavan
    Mrs Heathcliff's Riposte – Fiona McKenna
    Murik's Coat – Brooke Ballenger
    Payback – Gillian Brown
    People Like Me – Jacq Molloy
    Piano Music – Louise Mangos
    Russell's Story – Philip Laverty
    Shame on You –Susan Doherty
    Silent Ovation – Joanna Campbell
    Taj – Pauline Hughes
    The Diamond – Nick Thripp
    The Fox – Hannah Persaud
    The Neighbours – James Hodgson
    The Past Never Dies – Simon Hall
    The Perfect Shade of Green – Sherry Morris
    The Sculptor and the Sea – Anya J. Davis
    The Tallow Butcher's Child – Joanna Campbell
    The Unpathed Water – Melanie Marshall
    Uncommon Wisdom – Gautam Banerjee
    Undine – Melanie Whipman
    Units of Sense and Magnitude – Catherine Ford
    Where's Lisbeth? – Maureen Cullen